Advising

Please contact the appropriate advisors below for questions. If you don’t know who to contact, please contact Ms. Stephanie Kuhta (smonk@gmu.edu) in the front office.

Undergraduate Advisors

  1. Fernando Camelli
    Associate Professor
    Office: 101C Planetary HallEmail: fcamelli@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-4073Site: http://web.cos.gmu.edu/~fcamelli/
  2. Phil Rubin
    Professor
    Office: 253 Planetary HallEmail: prubin@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-3815Site: http://physics.gmu.edu/~rubinp/* Incoming, Freshman, and Sophomore students only
  3. Joe Weingartner
    Associate Professor
    Office: 231 Planetary HallEmail: jweinga1@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-4596Site: http://physics.gmu.edu/~joe/
  4. Erhai Zhao
    Associate Professor
    Office: 207 Planetary HallEmail: ezhao2@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-4571Site: http://mason.gmu.edu/~ezhao2/

Graduate Advisors

  1. Bob Weigel
    Associate Professor
    Office: 259 Planetary HallEmail: rweigel@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-1361Site: http://bobweigel.net/
  2. Chi Yang
    Professor
    Office: 103B Planetary HallEmail: cyang@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-4077* Advisor for Applied and Engineering Physics

Transfer Credit Advisors

  1. Art Poland
    Research Professor
    Office: 255 Planetary HallEmail: apoland@gmu.eduPhone: (703) 993-8404

A complete list of Advising Curriculum Worksheets are located on the George Mason Center for Academic Advising, Retention, and Transitions website.

Note about transfer credits: If you have transferred from another school and you feel your credits were not transferred correctly, you need to do the following:

  1. Check the GMU transfer credit search engine – http://admissions.gmu.edu/transfer/TransferCreditSearch.asp
  2. Fill out a Transfer Credit Re-Evaluation Appeal Form – http://admissions.gmu.edu/transfer/Documents/TransferCreditReEvalAppealForm.pdf
  3. Send the form to the Transfer Credit Advisor at the address above