Katelyn Fariss and Ryan McGreal honored as Provost student-athletes

From Gomason.com 2/19/2013, courtesy George Mason Athletics

Katelyn Fariss, Physics major, Astronomy minor and Cheerleading, and Ryan McGreal, Physics major and Track, were honored by the Provost recently as Mason Student-Athletes. See article below from GoMason.com.

George Mason Provost Scholar Athletes were honored last week at a reception on campus and recognized at the men’s basketball game on Saturday for their outstanding academic achievements. In its fifth year, the award recognizes the student-athletes who have earned at least 38 credit hours at Mason and have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or better.

George Mason Provost, Dr. Peter Stearns, who created the Provost Scholar Athlete Award in 2009, was at both events to congratulate this year’s recipients. A reception was held on Wednesday, February 13 at the Mason Hall atrium for the 26 student-athlete award-winners, along with their parents, select deans, professors, and senior athletic administrators.

“It’s a privilege to meet the Provost Scholars, and they seem to appreciate the honor as well — which they deserve,” Stearns commented. “I’m always impressed with students who so successfully manage to do well academically as well as in sports, and with the wide range of majors the Scholars represent. And it’s nice to see the numbers of those who qualify going up.”

The number of award-winners is up ten from last year, including eight repeat winners. Rowing’s Madison Beumer and volleyball’s Javier Perez-Navarrete earned the award for the third straight year. Jennifer Storch (Masonettes), Paige Impink (swimming), Chris Borden (tennis), Lyndse Hokanson (soccer), David Lucas (volleyball) and Patrick Maloney (volleyball) were all two-time winners.