Students excel at COS Undergraduate Research Symposium

Jennifer Van was awarded the Physical Sciences Dean’s award for her poster presentation “Conformational Sampling and Principal Component Analysis of the Met-Enkephalin Peptide.” Professors Amarda Shehu of the Department of Computer Science and Estela Blaisten-Barojas of SPACS served as advisors. Ms. Van is part of an undergraduate team also consisted of Nima Namazi and Ruxi Xiang.

SPACS undergrads Katelyn Fariss, Bradley Smith, and Jessica Ellis won second place at the COS Undergraduate Research Symposium for their poster “Transit Observations of Exoplanet Targets HAT-P-20b and HD189733b”. SPACS grad students Alex Panka and Prabal Saxena served as advisors.

Hinduja Nallamala attained third place in the Physical Sciences Division for her poster, “The Automated Discovery of Implied Causation Statements in Medical Research Literature: the Text-Based Causation Signal ’caused by’ “. CSI grad student Dr. Joseph Marr advised Ms. Nallamala.

Congratulations to all of them for their achievements and for representing SPACS so well!